The Flying Club Cup

10 Jan

flyingclubcup.jpg 

Another album on high rotation here (so to speak), is Beirut’s The Flying Club Cup. What antic melancholy and nostalgia this music is party to, with its air of autumn in old Europe – a bittersweet air of summers past – and its accordions and mandolins and flugel horn. All that waltz-time makes me want to skip up the sepia path on the back cover, past the Parisian women in their 1920s dresses, and onto the stony beach beyond. “What melody will lead my lover from his bed?”, the singer, Zach Condon, intones. “What melody will see him in my arms again?”

I’ll sing of the walls of the well and the house at the top of the hill
I’ll sing of the bottles of wine that we left on our old windowsill
I’ll sing of the years you will spend getting sadder and older
Oh love, and the cold, the oncoming cold.

They are playing in Brisbane at the Zoo on 6 March (2008): can’t wait.

2 Responses to “The Flying Club Cup”

  1. Christopher Miles 10 January 2008 at 5:30 am #

    I’m pretty familiar with their previous one, Gulag Orkestar, but haven’t given this one a proper listen yet. I’ve liked what I’ve heard, though.

    You might also like a band called ‘A Hawk And A Hacksaw’ – I’ve got a feeling there’s some overlap in band members, but don’t quote me on that.

  2. Melissa Bellanta 10 January 2008 at 10:03 am #

    Will definitely follow up this lead – thank you. Also: have only heard Gulag Orkestar at a friends’ place, fleetingly. It was playing in the background, but even behind the din of chat &c I was charmed. Have to get my hands on it now.

Leave a Reply

